i2M musicport ASIO vs my existing ASIO driver?

Dedicated forum for feedback and support on the ASIO driver for the i2M musicport™ MIDI Converter & Hi-Z USB Audio Interface.

i2M musicport ASIO vs my existing ASIO driver?

Postby charleyrich » Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:06 am

Why would I want to install the i2M musicport ASIO driver when I have an ASIO driver specific to my soundcard? (Echo Mia)

Is there an advantage to the i2M ASIO driver or should both be installed?

Thanks,

Charley
charleyrich
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 3:13 am

Re: i2M musicport ASIO vs my existing ASIO driver?

Postby james » Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:21 am

The i2M musicport ASIO driver allows the low-latency audio input from the i2M be used in your software at the same time as the MIDI data. Using your Echo ASIO will not let you use the i2M's audio input.

The i2M ASIO driver was designed to "chain" another device as the output. So, you can use both the i2M as an input, and your ASIO Echo driver as the audio output. Full details are in the pdf manual for the ASIO driver.

If you don't want to use the i2M's audio, and only it's MIDI capability then you don't need the i2M ASIO driver at all. You will also get lowest audio latency this way: the output chaining adds a small delay to the output you hear because it has to match the sample rates of the i2M and the other audio device.
User avatar
james
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1844
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:12 pm

Re: i2M musicport ASIO vs my existing ASIO driver?

Postby BDG » Fri Jul 08, 2011 2:34 am

Hi,

Got my I2M yesterday and trying to put it through its paces. Is this ASIO driver for windows only, or also for Mac?

I've tried using the aggregate device with the I2M aggregated with my MOTU 828 mk2 (Firewire), but it comes out a huge mess when I choose the aggregated device in Cubase 5. MIDI works fine.

I could work around and use the MOTU unit for audio, but it's a pain to have to unplug the guitar from one device and into another as I change from MIDI to audio, and of course I won't be able to do simultaneous audio and MIDI performance if I do that.

Will the ASIO driver solve this problem (iMac)? Or will I lose the MOTU inputs if I use this ASIO driver?

TIA

Brian.
BDG
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 2:23 am

Re: i2M musicport ASIO vs my existing ASIO driver?

Postby johnmc » Fri Jul 08, 2011 3:09 pm

Hi Brian,

ASIO is only a PC thing, not Mac.

What happens with the audio when you use the aggregated audio driver? We don't have an 828 here to try with. If you set the 828 to 48kHz does it make any difference?

As a quick test, can you try using garageband assuming you have it installed - this lets you choose inputs and outputs separately without an aggregate driver.

John.
User avatar
johnmc
Site Admin
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:19 pm

Re: i2M musicport ASIO vs my existing ASIO driver?

Postby matrix123 » Thu Oct 03, 2013 12:30 pm

The i2M is classcompliant.As per my opinion ASIO works with this worked only with Ableton Live and Studio One Pro. Apart from that MDI tracking is also very fast and you get ample ways to optimize performance.
matrix123
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:31 am


Return to i2M musicport™ ASIO Driver

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron