SysEx messages through Voluum

For the Voluum™ Digitally-Controlled Analogue Volume Effects Pedal

SysEx messages through Voluum

Postby sascha » Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:42 pm

Dear James,

found out today that my Voluum doesn't support SysEx. That is, I first tried to send SysEx messages coming from Cubase using Voluum as USB-MIDI Interface through the Voluum 5-Pin MIDI Out to my ProStage Remote Wah. Didn't work. When I used my RME Interface instead, it did work. However, connecting RME MIDI Out => Voluum 5-Pin MIDI in and Voluum 5-Pin MIDI Out => ProStage MIDI In, again it didn't work; though CC data was going through perfectly.

From the "Nixie" thread in this forum, I understood that currently Voluum doesn't support SysEx being sent from USB MIDI to 5-Pin. But obviously, also in 5-Pin MIDI thru operation, Voluum filters SysEx. This is BAD; at least for me, planning my new board with MIDI chain: DMC3XL => Boss ES-5 => Voluum => ProStage Wah => Timeline => M5. I would have to constantly recable the ProStage for preset editing, and even the DMC3XL may send SysEx stuff to the Timeline that would get swallowed on the way.

So, it would be great if you could fix the "5-Pin MIDI thru filters SysEx" in the next software version. Of course, also SysEx transmission between USB-MIDI and 5-Pin MIDI would be great; from the "Nixie" thread I understand that this may be a bit difficult to implement, and users didn't ask for it yet ... well, I do :-) ... but I think the "no more SysEx filtering in 5-Pin thru" is more crucial.

In general, I love the Voluum + ProStage Remote Wah combo :-)

Best wishes
Sascha
sascha
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 11:40 pm

Re: SysEx messages through Voluum

Postby james » Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:25 am

Do you know how long the Sysex messages are that you are using? Sysex messages are not normal MIDI messages because they can be any length, that's why they're currently not implemented. Knowing what people would expect a typical maximum length of messages to be would be useful. (The smaller the better from an implementation point of view!)

The main reason it's not yet implemented is because there were so many feature requests, and Sysex wasn't one of these (it's on our internal list, but still low priority). I'll boost the priority of this and aim to get it in the next update.
User avatar
james
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1836
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:12 pm

Re: SysEx messages through Voluum

Postby Jochems » Sun Apr 23, 2017 7:06 pm

I run a fully midi controlled pedal board and unfortunately have to keep the Voluum out of my midi thru chain due to the same issue.
It would help me a lot too if the implementation can take place on short notice.

Kind regards,
Erwin Jochems
Jochems
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 6:58 pm

Re: SysEx messages through Voluum

Postby james » Mon Apr 24, 2017 8:51 am

Ok, thanks for letting us know this is important to you!
User avatar
james
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1836
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:12 pm

Re: SysEx messages through Voluum

Postby sascha » Sun Apr 30, 2017 10:32 am

james wrote:Do you know how long the Sysex messages are that you are using? Sysex messages are not normal MIDI messages because they can be any length, that's why they're currently not implemented. Knowing what people would expect a typical maximum length of messages to be would be useful. (The smaller the better from an implementation point of view!)

The main reason it's not yet implemented is because there were so many feature requests, and Sysex wasn't one of these (it's on our internal list, but still low priority). I'll boost the priority of this and aim to get it in the next update.


Hey James,
thanks, boosting priority on this sounds great :-)

For the ProStage Remote Wah, SysEx messages are typically 7 to 8 Bytes. For setting the LFO speed (Time in ms = 2 * XXYY), there's two 8 Byte messages, like:
F0 00 20 75 00 76 XX F7
F0 00 20 75 00 77 YY F7

For controlling the Strymon Timeline, it seems SysEx is not needed. However, it would be great to be able to do preset dump through the Voluum USB MIDI; and those would probably be loooong SysEx messages. Of course, I would not run other critical MIDI stuff while doing a preset dump.
sascha
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 11:40 pm

Re: SysEx messages through Voluum

Postby james » Tue May 02, 2017 9:06 am

Thanks for the info -- this will help.
User avatar
james
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1836
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:12 pm

Re: SysEx messages through Voluum

Postby ChrisJ » Sat Apr 27, 2019 5:22 pm

bump - any luck with sysex support?
ChrisJ
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 8:48 pm

Re: SysEx messages through Voluum

Postby james » Mon Apr 29, 2019 6:45 pm

Thanks for the bump!

Unfortunately, we still haven't investigated this; other things have been higher priority. Do you need this for a specific application?
User avatar
james
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1836
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:12 pm

Re: SysEx messages through Voluum

Postby ChrisJ » Sun May 19, 2019 3:15 pm

Hi James,

Yep - the main issue is that if I want to use any library software for other midi-connected pedals (e.g. strymon nixie) then I have to unplug the voluum from the midi loop due to the fact it doesn’t pass through sysex messages and so the software can’t find the other pedals. This is a massive inconvenience. It would be fantastic to have this just work without fiddling with the cables on my board. Better still, imagine having voluum’s own USB port as the interface between PC and board without connecting a separate midi interface! I get that sysex is probably a difficult firmware programming task but I can imagine this feature being beneficial to a number of your current and future customers (like me and the original poster).

So, in summary, the two feature requests:

Voluum passes through sysex from midi in to midi out without filtering
Voluum passes through sysex from usb to midi out
ChrisJ
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 8:48 pm


Return to Voluum™ Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron